June 13: Reflections

Wow, what a day! I was sitting in the office at the end of last period when the first (5.5) earthquake hit. It was quite big but didn’t seem to be much damage and luckily the students had already left so we didn’t have 1600 stressed young people to deal with. I was just about to leave when the 6.0 hit and it was pretty impressive to see the movement of the walls then all the lights swaying violently in our new gym. Must have been well designed though as it is fine! Anyway, enough earthquake chat as I’m sure it will be the topic of choice for at least the next few days. These shots (more than one, what a treat!) are from Waikuku (North Canterbury) and I have always seen the cool reflections as I drive past but never remembered to bring my camera. Today however, I did! Most of the birds flew away but there was one who wanted to stick around for a photo. Thanks! Off to bed now so see ya day 163.

4 thoughts on “June 13: Reflections

  1. I love reflections! These are very nice, and the water was mirror-like. My favorite is #2 though, I like the focus on the single stem with the blurred background giving you some idea of the surroundings.

    • Thanks! Looking back on this project so far I seem to have quite a trend of taking this style of photo… I’ve been trying to steer away from it so I can learn new techniques but sometimes I just can’t resist! 🙂

Leave a Reply

