June 23: Christchurch Art Gallery

7:10 am in winter is quite early to be wandering around with a camera looking like a creeper but that was me this morning… I have been driving past the Art Gallery on my way to work this week and thought it would make a good photo. This morning I left a little bit early and took my camera and tripod with me. There were a lot of people coming and going as the Gallery is pretty busy post-earthquake and I didn’t really have a huge amount of time so had to be quick. I had also forgotten my remote trigger so the shot wasn’t as good as I would have liked but it will do the trick for day 173. Three photos taken from a tripod at f/10. Learnt a few things though so was worth the effort 🙂

4 thoughts on “June 23: Christchurch Art Gallery

  1. nice shot… i’ve been enjoying your foray into the world of HD…

    my only criticism would be to work a bit on the ‘noise’ in the shot… the sky is really grainy and the color level is blown out…

    but, that being said, i’ll repeat: i’ve been enjoying your shots of the past few days, and look forward to watching you learn more about HD!

  2. Hey John, thanks for your comments! I totally agree with your thoughts on the sky – it was on my “to-fix” list before publishing but guests arrived early and I didn’t have time. Am trying to find a way to fix this though, any ideas?
    Glad you are enjoying my experimentation with HDR! Definitely more to come so watch this space 🙂

    • I don’t know much about post-processing for HDR…it’s not something I’ve gotten into; I’ve just seen many, many images in HDR. I know we’ve got some good books on HDR here in the states, and I’m guessing you’ve got books in NZ 🙂

      I’m willing to bet there are some good HDR blogs too — ones that deal with technique, rather than just a photographer displaying his images… those would be all the suggestions I’ve got to offer.

      But, as I said, I’m looking forward to more of your photos. It’s always nice to watch someone’s growth in a new area of photography.

  3. Books, what are they? I remember a time when they used ink to make markings on paper and bound the pages together for people to ready… Hmmm, might have to investigate this option… But I have found some good blogs on HDR so just a matter of sifting through to find the good stuff. In the meantime, check out http://hdrshooter.wordpress.com/ and http://www.stuckincustoms.com if you haven’t already for some stunning HDR images! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

