October 25: Canon 18-55mm

This is my kit lens that I got with the camera along with a 55-250mm. I use this lens for 99% of my photos and although the zoom lens comes in hand on rare occasions, it was probably a waste of money. I’m thinking of selling it and putting the money toward a Sigma 10-20mm wide angle or maybe even a faster fixed lens… So many options but all dependent on money so probably wont be happening for a while πŸ™‚ Anyway, that’s my image plus story for day 296!

10 thoughts on “October 25: Canon 18-55mm

    • I know, cameras are so expensive! I started with a Kodak P850 which I had for years before upgrading to the Canon 450D. Still get jealous when I see people with awesome cameras or photographers on TV with 2 or 3 cameras and the best lenses on them all… One day… πŸ™‚

  1. Hi Stephen!! I’ve only got the 18-55mm kit lens…. wanting to expand my lens collection but as you say… it’s super expensive!! Somehow I can’t imagine spending so much money on something like this (I would currently rather spend the money for a trip abroad!!). Don’t get me wrong, I love the kit lens… it is very versatile!!! & I’m struggling on deciding between a macro or telephoto… I love doing close-ups… but more often than not wish I had just a tad longer lens… it’s so difficult to decide… but for the moment… I have to be content!!! Would Love love love a wide angle as well!!! Oh the choices!! Keep us updated on your kit…. because your photos are stunning!!! πŸ™‚ **

    • Good to hear that someone else is in the same situation! I think my next purchase will be the wide angle Sigma wide angle as it seems to be the weapon of choice for most of the HDR shooters I following including http://hdrshooter.wordpress.com/ which it one of my favourites… But I’m with you on it being behind a lot of other things on the priority list unfortunately! Landscaping, painting the house, new car, baby clothes – the list goes on and on! But happy enough with the lens I’ve got for now so all good! πŸ™‚ Really enjoying your images so keep them coming!

    • Haha let me know how you go! Also now looking at a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II – just because it’s cheap and apparently a pretty good lens for portraits. The kit lenses are doing the job but I would really like a few better lenses… Maybe for Christmas! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

